Monday, July 20, 2015

Book Review: Denton Little's Deathdate by Lance Rubin

Denton Little's Deathdate
by Lance Rubin

Series: Denton Little #1
Genre: YA, contemporary, sci-fi-ish
Published April 14th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers 
Source: Publisher
Local order/purchase: Fully Booked * National Bookstore

Blurb Goodreads):
Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.

Denton Little's Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that's tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend's hostile sister. Though he's not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton's long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton's life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager's life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on. 

My Thoughts:

My first impression: The title and--especially--the cover is so awkward to own. Like in my case, I bring my current reads wherever I go so I could read them whenever. The thing is, I had to read the book in a way the cover won't be seen. I'm sorry for being embarrassed that way but that you can't blame me! I have never owned a book with a hearse on it. Part of me having second thoughts in requesting for this book from the publisher is the cover.

Denton Little's Deathdate is contemporary sci-fi-ish. Some people from this world has, they call, a deathdate. Upon a child's birth, people will know when they will die. It could be after five years, ten, eighty, etc. On Denton's case, he will be dead by the next day. And the day before his--anyone's--deathdate, is his funeral. People give eulogy and even himself. Yep, creepy and weird. I was asking myself why did I even bothered reading this. I cannot even begin with its weirdness.

And then the dialogues became funny enough for me to chuckle at some points and eventually, laugh. This comedic taste kept me reading. If I won't be getting any sense in here then entertain me by making me laugh. Until I reach the half of the book. A mysterious twist made this book more engaging. It turn out dystopian-ish which is cool. And I never expected that. I began to appreciate and get excited on each page. Although there's part of me that knows/had an idea for the answer, I had fun--and been frustrated (so many wrong lead-ons)--in unraveling the riddle of the book. So far the biggest surprise I read this year. 

Creepy and weird-looking, yes, but expect the unexpected from Denton Little's Deathdate. Light, enjoyable, and hilarious read. I never expected to have a fun experience with this book. It turned out better than I thought (actually, I don't have any high expectations. I thought it was gonna sort-of-sucked). I really liked it and I'll absolutely look forward on the sequel. Yay!

*Thank you so much Penguin Random House for the review copy in exchange of an honest review!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Don't leave with your thoughts unshared!